Bonfire Night

Hi everyone,

I’m kind of behind on my blog, I know, so I’m going to spend the day getting caught up! The weekend of Bonfire night, I  went back to Gloucester for the weekend! Bonfire night was on Sunday (5th of November), but we went to a celebration nearby on Friday! For those of you that don’t know, it’s basically a celebration of the failed attempt at blowing up the House of Lords. People lit bonfires in celebration and thus bonfire night began! So, basically they light a big bonfire and burn a Guy Fawkes (he was the one caught next to all the gunpowder, and ordered to be quartered) figure and light off some fireworks! I hope that is a sufficient explanation and that I didn’t completely butcher it haha.

Anyway, we went to a bonfire celebration that had fireworks and it was pretty nice! The fireworks were good and they had a big bonfire too! I found it really enjoyable to be in England to experience my first bonfire night! Of course, my grandmother has always been sure to keep us informed, so we’ve always known about it, but it was fun to actually celebrate it!

Also on Friday, I went to visit Nan, which is fun as always. She has a prettiest little house! She’s got so many interesting stories to tell and I love listening to them! 🙂

Backtracking a bit to Thursday, I got to go to my buddy Tyler’s school to pick him up, and I love hanging out with him, played some soccer (football) and took some selfies 😉 see below haha.

Saturday, We went to Tyler’s first official soccer game against another team! He played really well and it was fun to see the kids play, they are all so little and all so much better at soccer than I ever could be haha. We also went out to a restaurant to celebrate a birthday and then we went to a pub for a while. It was really fun! The food was so good, but there was a lot! It was called Shanghai and basically, you pay a certain price and you get to pick a bunch of food items of the menu and you just eat and eat haha. It was a mixture of all you can eat buffet and classic restaurant service. The food was excellent, but I thought I wasn’t going to be able to eat for a week (that didn’t happen, of course).

Altogether it was a really fun weekend and I enjoyed spending time with everyone! I head back again this weekend for Thanksgiving celebrations! Fingers crossed that I can pull this off because this is my first ever Thanksgiving meal I’ll be cooking on my own. Hopefully I don’t turn my family off the idea of Thanksgiving forever 😉 haha

I’ll be posting shortly about my lovely trip to Bath, so bye for now 🙂

❤ Meg

 

Leave a comment